• Apply Now!

Faculty Awards & Recognition


Board of Regents Support Fund Endowed Chairs and Professorships


The Faculty Advising Award


The Louisiana Tech Foundation F. Jay Taylor Undergraduate Teaching Award


The University Foundation Professorship


The University Senate Chair Award


The Virgil Orr Junior Faculty Award








Louisiana Tech University adheres to the equal opportunity provisions of federal and civil rights laws, and does not discriminate on the basis of race, national origin, religion, age, sex, sexual orientation, marital status or disability. The Title IX Coordinator is Carrie Flournoy, President’s Office, P.O. Box 3168; phone (318) 257-3785; e-mail flournoy@latech.edu.



The Virgil Orr Junior Faculty Award

The Virgil Orr Junior Faculty Award was established in 2000 from a proposal developed by the University Senate and approved by Dr. Dan Reneau, President of Louisiana Tech University. Junior faculty is defined as 1) nontenure track faculty, regardless of years of service or 2) untenured faculty in tenure-track positions.The purpose of the award is to recognize junior faculty who have made significant contributions to the mission and purpose of the university. Nominations and the selection of a single nominee for each college and the library are made on the basis of a vote of the entire faculty of each college and the library, respectively. The award includes a plaque and a $1,500 stipend paid through the Louisiana Tech University Foundation. The award is presented during the annual Fall meeting of the University Faculty and Staff.

Any junior faculty member in any area may be nominated for the Virgil Orr Undergraduate Junior Faculty Award in accordance with the following critieria:

  • The nominee has at least a 9-month, full-time, non-administrative appointment;
  • The nominee is either non tenure-track or untenured in a tenure tenure-track appointment;
  • The nominee has responsibilities in undergraduate teaching, research and similar endeavors, and community/university service; and
  • The nominee has not previously received this award.

 Past winners of the Virgil Orr Junior Faculty Award are:

2009-2010 Dr. Jeff Yule

2008-2009 Larry Jarrell

2007-2008 Dr. David Szymanski  

2006-2007 Dr. Dorothy Robbins

2005-2006 Dr. Amy Massey Vessel

2004-2005 Dr. Lori Myers

2003-2004 Genaro Smith

2002-2003 Dr. Lee Sawyer

2001-2002 Anita Pumphrey

2000-2001 Dr. David Hall