Frellsen Fletcher Smith Collection Homepage 


British Author Pages


William Harrison Ainsworth


Sir Max Beerbohm


William Camden


Charles Dickens


Leigh Hunt


Charles Lamb


Somerset Maugham


John Ruskin


Robert Southey


Alfred, Lord Tennyson


William Makepeace Thackeray


H.G. Wells


William Wordsworth


Documents by the 19th-Century British Poet Laureates


  • Apply Now!


American Authors and Statesmen


Bronson Alcott


Louisa May Alcott


William Cullen Bryant


James Fenimore Cooper


Richard henry Dana


Ralph Waldo Emerson


Zane Grey


Horace Greeley


Bret Harte


William Dean Howells


Henry Wadsworth Longfellow


Washington Irving


James Madison


Edwin Markham


Carl Sandburg


John Steinbeck


Henry David Thoreau


Mark Twain

Alfred, Lord Tennyson

Handwritten Lines from "The Brook"tennyson

Alfred Tennyson, 1st Baron Tennyson, (1809 – 1892), was named British Poet Laureate after Wordsworth’s death in 1850 and served until 1892, making his tenure in the position the longest of any Poet Laureate before or since. His poetry is among the world’s most famous, and includes poems such as “Break, Break, Break,” “Ulysses,” “the Charge of the Light Brigade,” and of course the poem regarded as his masterwork, “In Memoriam.”




An Explanation of the Documentbrook

The manuscript in the Frellsen Fletcher Smith Collection contains the fourth, fifth, and sixth stanzas of Tennyson’s poem “The Brook.” “The Brook” was originally published in Maud and Other Poems in 1855, making it Tennyson’s first published collection of poetry after he was named Poet Laureate. This manuscript, written in Tennyson’s hand, is dated 26 years later, March 26, 1881, but it was not an uncommon practice for Tennyson to write out previously published verse to present to friends and admirers.

For more information about this poem, see it on display in the Frellsen Fletcher Smith Collection on the 4th floor of the Prescott Memorial Library.

- Dr. Rick Simmons, Department of English, Louisiana Tech University