• Apply Now!







Louisiana Tech University adheres to the equal opportunity provisions of federal and civil rights laws, and does not discriminate on the basis of race, national origin, religion, age, sex, sexual orientation, marital status or disability. The Title IX Coordinator is Carrie Flournoy, President’s Office, P.O. Box 3168; phone (318) 257-3785; e-mail flournoy@latech.edu.





Dr. Rick Simmons, George K. Anding Endowed Professor of English, is the Director of the Honors Program. His research credentials include the books Factory Lives: Four 19th-Century Working-Class Autobiographies (2007), Defending South Carolina's Coast: The Civil War from Georgetown to Little River (2009), Hidden History of the Grand Strand (2010), Carolina Beach Music: The Classic Years (2011), Carolina Beach Music: The New Wave (2013), and the Reference Guide to Carolina Beach Music Recordings and Artists 1940-1980, forthcoming from McFarland Publishers in 2018. He was the recipient of both the University Senate Chair Award for Excellence in Teaching, Research, and Service and the Louisiana Tech Foundation F. Jay Taylor Teaching Award.



Honors Faculty


Dr. David Anderson


BA, MA, UNLV; PhD, University of North Carolina




Dr. Brian Barron


BS, Louisiana Tech University; MDiv, St. Paul School of Theology; MA, PhD, Louisiana Tech University



Dr. Bill Campbell


BA and MS, University of South Florida; PhD, University of Florida



Dr. Irene Casas 

Geographic Information Science 

BS, Instituto Columbiano de Estudios Superiores; MS, University of Akron ; PhD, Ohio State University




Dr. Stanley R. Cronk

Industrial Engineering

BS, PhD, Louisiana Tech University


Jonathan Donehoo


BFA, University of Georgia; MFA Louisiana Tech University



Dr. Katie Evans


BS, Morehead State; MS, PhD, Virginia Tech



Dr. Otis Gilley


BS, UTSA; MS and PhD, Purdue University




Dr. Jean Gourd

Computer Science

BS and PhD, University of Southern Mississippi



Dr. William Green

Animal Sciences

BS, MS, Louisiana State University; DVM Auburn University



Dr. David Hall

Mechanical Engineering

BS, Louisiana Tech University; MS, PhD, Georgia Institute of Technology



Liane Hancock


BArch, MIT; MArch, Columbia University



Dr. Jeffery R. Hankins


BA, University of Texas; MA, Texas State University; PhD, Louisiana State University


Dr. Davis Harbour

Electrical Engineering

BS, MS, University of Oklahoma; PhD, University of Arkansas


Dr. Scott Levin


BA, Boston University; MA, Ohio State University; PhD, Fordham University



Dr. Celia Lewis


BA, University of Texas-Austin; MA, University of Paris-La Sorbonne; PhD, Baylor University


Dr. Taylor E. Mack

Social Sciences

BS, MS, University of Kansas, PhD, Louisiana State University


Dr. Bruce Magee

Foreign Languages and English

BA, Louisiana Tech University; MDiv, ThD, New Orleans Baptist Theological Seminary; PhD, Louisiana State University


Beverley Maggio


BS, MS, Southern University 



Stan McCaa 


BS, Mississippi College; MA, MBA The University of Alabama




Dr. Andrew McKevitt


BA, St. Joseph's University; PhD, Temple University



Dr. Jeremy Mhire

Political Science

BA, ULL; PhD, Louisiana State University


Kevin Merritt


BA, Western Washington University; MA, Oklahoma State University


Dr. Steele Moegle


BM, MM, Middle Tennessee State University; DMA, University of Colorado at Boulder



Dr. Jason Pigg 

Political Science 

BS University of Iowa; PhD, The Ohio State University




Karl Puljak


BArch, Kansas State University; MArch, Cranbrook Academy of Art



Dr. Anne Reynolds-Case


BA, Milsaps College; MA, University of Southern Mississippi; PhD, Louisiana State University


Dr. Dorothy Robbins


BA, Oklahoma City University; MA, University of Oklahoma; MA University of South Dakota; PhD, University of Nebraska


Dr. Robert W. Rudnicki


BA, Centenary College; MA, PhD, Texas A&M



Dr. Ernie Rufleth


BA, MALS, Valparaiso University; PhD, Purdue University



Dr. Amanda Sanford 

Political Science 

BA, MA, PhD, University of Tennessee 



Dr. Lee Sawyer


BS, Northeast Louisiana University; PhD, Florida State University 


Cherrie Sciro 

Speech/Theatre; Coordinator of Theater

BA, MFA, Louisiana Tech University


Genaro Smith 

Creative Writing

BA, California State University; MA, MFA, McNeese State University


Christine Strebeck


BA, Louisiana State University; MA, Louisiana Tech University


Dr. Michael Swanbom

Mechanical Engineering

BS, LeTourneau University; MS, Louisiana Tech University; PhD, Louisiana Tech



Dr. Donna Thomas 

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences 

BS, MS, University of Louisiana; PhD, Louisiana Tech University