2014-15 Parking Regulations
SUBJECT TO REVISION BY THE UNIVERSITY TRAFFIC RULES COMMITTEE
- Students who owe traffic fines will not receive a transcript to validate completed academic work, nor will they be permitted to re-enroll, until fines are cleared.
- The registrant is responsible for all tickets issued to his/her vehicle, including violations incurred by family members and other drivers. The operator of an unregistered vehicle is responsible for all tickets issued to that vehicle. (See Family Visitation rules.)
- Tickets paid within 48 hours receive a $5 discount per ticket. Tickets appealed within 48 hours are granted a $5 discount per ticket if the appeal is successful. Tickets must be appealed within seven business days of issuance of the ticket. Tickets may be appealed directly to the Police Chief, Assistant Chief, or Lieutenant. If the person wishes to appeal further, an appeals form may be completed in the Traffic Office or the University Police Office, and the appeal will be scheduled for the Parking and Traffic Committee. An individual may appeal directly to the Parking and Traffic Committee by completing and submitting the appeals form.
- The vehicle permit may be suspended on any vehicle receiving 10 parking violations in one academic quarter. Vehicles found parked on campus in violation of the rules of suspension will be towed without notice at the owner's expense.
- The use of vehicle flashing hazard lights is not justification for illegal parking.
- The fact that other vehicles are parked illegally is not an acceptable excuse for illegal parking.
- Student decals are authorized to park in BLUE (Faculty/Staff) ZONES from 3 p.m. to 7 a.m. Monday through Friday and on weekends.
- Vehicles that are a hazard to campus safety and/or destroy or deface University property, or bring discredit to the University, are towed without notification at the owner's expense.
- Students adjudicated as guilty of traffic offenses which occurred on campus and which involved alcohol or other intoxicants will be referred to Student Conduct and Academic Integrity for appropriate action.
- If you believe you were ticketed in error, do not move your vehicle, and contact the police department.
- If your vehicle is parked in violation and inoperable, contact the police department immediately.
- Traffic tickets, decals, and automobile registration applications are official documents of the University. Falsification of or allowing falsification of official documents subject the person to University disciplinary action.
- Further violations for a registered or an unregistered vehicle beyond the above may be referred to the Office of the Dean of Student Life.
- WHERE LOCATED, TRAFFIC LIGHTS CONTROL VEHICULAR AND PEDESTRIAN RIGHT-OF-WAY. OTHERWISE, VEHICLES ARE REQUIRED TO YIELD TO PEDESTRIANS WHO ARE WITHIN A CROSSWALK OR SO CLOSE TO THE CROSSWALK THAT A HAZARD IS PRESENT.
- Any University employee indebted to the University Police Office is subject to city court action if violations are not paid after sufficient notification.
- The operation of a vehicle on campus is a privilege granted by Louisiana Tech. Serious and/or excessive traffic violations will result in the loss of this privilege.
- Louisiana Tech assumes no responsibility for the care and/or protection of any vehicle or its contents.
- Any vehicle parked or positioned as to cause a hazardous situation for pedestrian or vehicular or emergency vehicle movement may be towed by order of the police. Any cost related to such tow shall be the responsibility of the registered owner of said vehicle.
Student 1: Residence hall student parking east of (but not along) Wisteria Street, and east of Bond Street.
Student 2: Commuter student parking and west residence hall student parking, Wisteria Street and west of Bond Street.
Student A: Residence hall student parking north of Railroad Avenue. During any period of non-enrollment, Zone A residents are bound by vehicle regulations.
Faculty/Staff: Denoted by blue curbs or blue parking lines campus wide. Also Enterprise Campus on-street parking.
Handicap: Denoted by green curbs or handicap signs. Students, faculty and staff must have a handicap permit to park in a handicap zone.
Reserved: No parking anytime except for authorized vehicles.
All Zone: Vehicles with any valid Faculty/Staff or Student decal may park in these zones. Gravel lots are considered all zone lots unless posted otherwise.
Enterprise Campus: Designated spaces in lot on west side of Homer Street. Also on-street parking along College Street, Homer Street, Louisiana Street, Texas Street, and Arizona Avenue.
Visitor & 30 Minute Zone: Will be denoted by yellow curb
- Student Zones 1, 2, or A and Faculty/Staff may park in any 15-30 minute zone on campus year round.
- Lots may be re-zoned by the University Police Department if necessary. Any lot that is re-zoned will be posted accordingly.
During Fall, Winter and Spring quarters:
- Students vehicles with a valid student permit may park in any student zone or faculty/staff zone from 3 p.m. to 7 a.m.
- Faculty/Staff vehicles with a valid faculty/staff permit may park in any student zone from 3 p.m. to 7 a.m.
- From 7:01 a.m. to 2:59 p.m.:
- Zone A - may park in Zones A, 2 and "All Zone" lots.*
- Zone 1- may park in Zones 1, 2 and "All Zone" lots.*
- Zone 2 - may park in Zones 2 and "All Zone" lots.*
- A parking permit is required 24 hours a day.
* "All Zone" lots allow parking with Zones A, 1, 2 and faculty/staff permits at all times.
During Summer Quarter:
- Students Zones 1, 2 & A may park in any Student Zone legal space 24 hours a day.
- Student Zones 1, 2 & A may park in Faculty/Staff Zones from 3 p.m. to 7 a.m.
- Faculty/Staff may park in Student Zones from 3 p.m. to 7 a.m.
- Vehicles with permits may park in bus zones from 3 p.m. to 7. a.m.
Vehicles with Faculty/Staff permits - (year round):
- May park in all gravel lots.
- May park in all residence hall lots west of Tech Drive.
- May park in Nethken Lot Student Zone 24 hours a day.
- Housing custodians with Faculty/Staff permits may park in the Student Zones in the residence hall lot where they are assigned.
- All blue zones.
- Zone A.
- A parking permit is required 24 hours a day to park on any part of the University campus. All Faculty/Staff, including part-time employees, must have a parking permit. All Louisiana Tech students, including but not limited to full-time students, graduate students, part-time students, evening students, non-extension nursing students, student teachers, etc., must have a parking permit. Barksdale students, off-campus extension course students, nursing extension students and medical technology interns are not required to have a main campus parking permit unless the student is enrolled for or taking a class or course on the main campus. In that case, the Barksdale, extension student, nursing extension student or medical technology interns must purchase an appropriate Zone parking permit. Any student exempt from a parking permit requirement must park in the appropriate Commuter Zone and will be responsible for any Zone (i.e., Red, Blue, Green, Student Zone 1, Zone A) violation received. (See requirements for vehicle registration.)
- Vehicle is interpreted to mean any mode of transportation. All vehicles must be registered by the beginning of the third day of classes. Zone violations are issued beginning the first day of fee payment. Red and Green Zones are enforced year round, including quarter breaks. Vehicles being brought on the campus for periods of one to 14 days, but not in excess of 14 days, will be registered each time. This registration does not guarantee a place to park. Any person who has a registered vehicle that is disabled may use another vehicle for three consecutive days without incurring any parking or registration fees. No tickets are charged against the vehicle if the vehicle is parked in areas as authorized for the registered, disabled vehicle. Any citation received during this period is reported to the Vehicle Registration Office within 24 hours of the date of issue. After three days, the vehicle must be registered with a temporary permit. (See requirements for Vehicle Registration below.)
- Vehicles may be registered in the Vehicle Registration Office on the second floor of South Hall.
- All vehicles registered with the State of Louisiana must comply with the Compulsory Insurance Law including carrying proof of insurance coverage.
- If one parks a friend's or family member's permitted vehicle, the vehicle must be parked in the zone for which it is permitted.
- Faculty, adjunct faculty, staff, employees and part-time employees must purchase a Faculty/Staff permit in order to park on the Louisiana Tech campus. Faculty/Staff may not purchase more than one annual decal or more than two temporary faculty/staff decals in any academic year without special approval from the Police Chief, Assistant Chief, or Lieutenant.
- On site teacher supervisors who do not work on campus or take classes will not be required to purchase a decal but must abide by faculty/staff zone regulations.
- Graduate students/assistants, undergraduate and part-time students must purchase a Student permit. Student zones 1 or A may not purchase more than one annual Zone 1 or Zone A decal or more than two temporary decals in any academic year without special approval from the Police Chief, Assistant Chief, or Lieutenant.
- Grambling State University – Institutional Cooperative Program students are required to have a Louisiana Tech parking permit. If the ICP student has purchased a GSU student permit, then the student may receive a Louisiana Tech Zone 2 Commuter permit at no charge by completing an application at the Louisiana Tech Traffic Office and furnishing proof of the GSU permit purchase and proof of ICP status. ICP students who have not purchased a GSU student permit must purchase a Louisiana Tech student permit at regular price. ICP students must register their vehicle by 8 a.m. on the third day of classes just as all other Louisiana Tech students must do.
- GSU faculty permits are valid for parking in Louisiana Tech Faculty/Staff zones.
- Louisiana Delta Community College faculty who have purchased an LDCC permit and are teaching LDCC class on the Louisiana Tech campus may apply for a Louisiana Tech Faculty decal at no charge.
- University of Louisiana at Monroe, AFROTC crosstown agreement students are issued a Louisiana Tech Student Zone 2 commuter permit at no charge upon proof of purchase of a ULM permit and proof of ULM AFROTC crosstown status. ULM AFROTC crosstown agreement students must secure their Tech permit by 8 a.m. on the third day of Tech classes. If the ULM AFROTC crosstown student hasn't purchased a ULM permit, then the student must pay regular price for the Louisiana Tech parking permit.
- Louisiana Education Consortium students are issued a Tech Student Zone 2 Commuter permit at no charge upon proof of purchase of a ULM or GSU or an LDCC permit. LEC students must secure their Tech permit by the third day of classes. LEC students who do not purchase a ULM or GSU permit must pay regular price for their Tech permit.
- Dual Enrollment (high school) students receive a Zone 2 decal free of charge as part of their registration process. These students are bound by commuter student parking regulations.
- Continuing Education students receive a parking pass issued by Continuing Education as part of their registration process. These students may not park in red or no parking zones. Continuing Education students must have a state issued handicap placard or Louisiana Tech Traffic Office issued handicap visitor pass to park in handicap zones.
- ELS Language Centers/Ruston enrolled students are required to purchase a decal and are bound by vehicle regulations.
- Handicap and/or multi-zone parking permits may be applied for by disabled or temporarily disabled students or faculty and staff, Application/physical verification forms are available in the Traffic Office. The permit expiration date varies depending on the duration of the disability. These special permits may only be utilized by the person to whom the permit is issued. Unauthorized use may result in a handicap parking fine and/or referral to Student Conduct and Academic Integrity.
- Aramark employees: Non-student Aramark employees must purchase a Faculty/Staff permit. Louisiana Tech student Aramark employees must purchase a Student permit.
- Part-time Aviation Instructors: Non-student, part-time aviation instructors who have graduated may purchase a Faculty/Staff permit. Non-student, part-time aviation instructors who have not completed undergraduate work may purchase a temporary Faculty/Staff permit on a quarterly basis for a $10 fee. Louisiana Tech student part-time aviation instructors purchase an annual Student permit.
REQUIREMENTS FOR VEHICLE REGISTRATION
- Present a valid driver's license or Louisiana Tech identification card.
- Present valid registration certificate for the vehicle, or a temporary license plate with vehicle identification number, or a valid bill of sale with vehicle identification number.
- Present vehicle license number.
- For a temporary permit (good for 14 days), only a valid driver's license and a license plate number or vehicle identification number are required.
- BICYCLES – The serial number is the only registration requirement.
WAYS TO PURCHASE A PERMIT
- From the Traffic Office (second floor, South Hall)
- Hours for Fall, Winter, and Spring Quarters
Monday thru Friday 8 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.
- Hours for Summer Quarter
Monday thru Thursday 7:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.
Friday 7:30 a.m.-12 noon
- Hours for Fall, Winter, and Spring Quarters
- From the University Police 24-hour Information Window (first floor, South Hall) when the Traffic Office is closed (by check only). Except during first two weeks of fall quarter.
- By mail by sending a check for the appropriate amount, a photocopy of the vehicle registration certificate, and a photocopy of driver's license to: Louisiana Tech Traffic Office, P.O. Box 3003, Ruston LA 71272.
- In compliance with Louisiana mandated guidelines, a 2% surcharge is added to payments made by credit card.
- The official University decal must be displayed in an upright position either on the outside of the lower left portion of the rear window or on the left side of the rear bumper so as to be visible from a standing position behind the automobile. An approved alternate location for permit placement on convertible vehicles only is the lower right-hand (passenger side) corner of the front windshield. Permits shall be affixed to the vehicle as designed by removing the backing and applying the adhesive side of the permit to the vehicle.
- Permits are not transferable and must be removed from vehicles immediately upon change of ownership or if the registrant severs his/her connection with the University.
- It is against University policy to display permits upon any vehicle other than the one indicated on the official registration, or to use a permit other than for the legitimate object and purpose for which such permit was purchased or issued. (New license numbers must be furnished to the Vehicle Registration Office immediately after purchasing.)
- Penalties for improper permit display are the same as penalties for parking violations.
- Rules for displaying permits other than for automobiles are given at the time of purchase of the permit.
- UPON TRADING VEHICLES THE UNIVERSITY DECAL MUST BE REMOVED AND RETURNED TO THE VEHICLE REGISTRATION OFFICE IN ORDER TO ACQUIRE ANOTHER DECAL FOR THE NEW VEHICLE AT NO CHARGE. (LIMIT ONE PER QUARTER).
- Previous registration permits are removed prior to placement of new permits.
- Upon presentation of a police report, a stolen permit is replaced for free (limit one per year). Lost permits are replaced at regular purchase price.
VEHICLE REGISTRATION FEES
Faculty/Staff & Student Zones 1, 2, A
NOTE: Please contact the traffic office for fee schedule.
Permits are not refundable with the exception of graduates. Graduates must apply for a refund within five business days after commencement exercises and must return the decal for a refund.
- Temporary and retiring employees may purchase a temporary Faculty/Staff permit for the applicable number of quarters at the rate of $15 per quarter.
- Tickets must be paid in the vehicle registration office or the Comptroller's Office. Police Officers do not accept payment for fines.
- The University can revoke a registration or refuse registration of a vehicle if it finds that the operation of said vehicle will create a hazard or bring discredit to the University.
- Senior citizens over 60 years old who are enrolled in no more than one class per quarter may purchase an annual decal at a 50% discount.
REGULATIONS FOR MOVING VEHICLES
- The campus speed limit is 20 miles per hour unless otherwise posted.
- All signs and traffic controls must be observed.
- Excessive noise by driver or occupants of a motor vehicle, excessive noise of vehicle, reckless operation of the vehicle, driving while intoxicated or under the influence of intoxicants, spinning tires on pavement or gravel, drag racing, operating vehicle with faulty lights or mufflers other than stock mufflers are all violations.
- No person shall ride on running boards, fenders, or rear rack of motor vehicles.
- Vehicles are not to be operated on sidewalks or lawns.
- LOUISIANA TECH VIOLATIONS OF MOVING VEHICLE REGULATIONS INCURRED BY STUDENTS ARE HANDLED BY THE TRAFFIC OFFICE. THE OFFICE OF THE VICE PRESIDENT OF STUDENT AFFAIRS RESERVES THE RIGHT TO SUSPEND ANY PERSON WHO PERSISTS IN CREATING HAZARDS.
- The operation of unlicensed vehicles on University property, or any device used for transportation, sport, or entertainment (excluding bicycles) is prohibited.
- All vehicle accidents are to be reported to the University Police. Accident vehicles are not to be moved until a police officer arrives unless they present a traffic hazard.
- Bicycles are subject to the same traffic regulations as motor vehicles.
ADDITIONAL REGULATIONS FOR VEHICLE PARKING
- Vehicles with Faculty/Staff permits shall park where the curb is painted blue. Vehicles with Student Zones 1, 2, & A permits shall park in designated parking spaces or lanes where the curb is painted white or unpainted within the appropriate zone. (See VEHICLE ZONE REGULATIONS section.)
- RED – curbs, rails, and/or markings denote NO PARKING areas at all times. If any part of a vehicle is parked illegally and/or in a Red Zone, the vehicle is in violation. Unauthorized vehicles may be towed from Red and/or “NO PARKING” Zones or areas at the owner's expense. Red areas are enforced at all times, including quarter break and holidays.
- GREEN – curbs and/or markings denote handicap permit parking only. Unauthorized vehicles may be towed from handicap parking spaces/handicap ramps at the owner's expense. Green areas are enforced at all times, including quarter break and holidays.
- RESERVED – no parking anytime except for authorized vehicles.
- YELLOW – curbs and/or markings in gravel lots denote student or faculty/staff parking. Yellow curbs at roadway intersections denote no parking. (See Vehicle Zone Regulations section.)
- No parking is allowed on lawns, neutral grounds, sidewalks, crosswalks, athletic areas, over or by red and yellow curbs, where streets are marked “No Parking,” or in areas designated as “Loading Zone” and “Service Entrance.” Parked vehicles cannot obstruct walks, driveways, or intersections. “Park at Your Own Risk“ signs do not authorize persons to park illegally.
- Vehicles cannot be repaired or abandoned on campus. Abandoned vehicles are towed and impounded at the owner's expense.
- Where diagonal or perpendicular parking is indicated, vehicles must be parked between the parking lines and at the angle indicated by the lines.
- Backing into parking areas that are next to curbs, buildings, and non-paved areas is prohibited if: a) the backed-in vehicle obstructs a sidewalk or other pedestrian or wheelchair pathway or b) the vehicle is parked in such a way as to obstruct the clear view of the permit or license plate.
- Where parallel parking is indicated, vehicles must be parked evenly between the parking lines and not more than one foot from the curb. Double parking is not allowed, and the automobile must be parked with the front end forward in the direction in which the flow of traffic is allowed. Any vehicle parked illegally, blocking a driveway or loading dock, double parked, creating a hazard, abandoned, parked in a handicap zone or wheelchair ramp, or a vehicle suspended from parking on campus, may be towed at the owner's expense.
- The University Police Office may alter parking limitations which are ordinarily imposed when conditions warrant, such as special events or during inclement weather.
- Motorcycles shall be parked ONLY in areas designated for this purpose within their assigned zones.
- Faculty, staff, and students may not park in the Red to load and unload. Faculty, staff, and students shall park in 30-minute zones if available. All 15-minute zones, 30-minute zones and other temporary zones are enforced 24 hours a day. These zones are for loading/unloading and quick access to high traffic areas. Individuals may not park in the same set of temporary zone more than once in any two-hour period. Reserved zones are enforced 24 hours a day.
- Parking locations marked VISITOR are specifically designated for visitors to the University. The use of these parking locations by a registered student or University employee is prohibited except 3 p.m. to 7 a.m. The President's reserved zone is reserved 24 hours a day, and unauthorized vehicles may be towed at the owner's expense.
- All parking lots – including but not limited to Baseball and Softball Lots – individuals park at their own risk. Louisiana Tech University assumes no liability for damage to a vehicle or its contents, included but not limited to damage resulting from operating a vehicle, acts of nature, vandalism, theft or flying objects such as rocks, baseballs or softballs.
- Students living in Zone A (University Park Apartments) during the summer who were enrolled for spring and are pre-registered for fall will be bound by all vehicle regulations as if they were enrolled for classes.
PENALTIES FOR LOUISIANA TECH MOVING AND PARKING VIOLATIONS
For moving violations and handicap parking fines, contact the Traffic Office at 257-2921.
Parking Violation Fines:
Parking in red zones - $25
Other parking violations - $20
ABOVE PENALTIES APPLY EVEN THOUGH A TICKET WAS NOT FOUND ON THE AUTOMOBILE OR OTHER MODE OF TRANSPORTATION.
NOTE: Penalties for Louisiana Uniform Citation, which may also be issued, are set by City Court.
- Tickets paid within 48 hours will receive a $5 discount per ticket Saturdays, Sundays and holidays are not counted in computing the 48 hours. These penalties apply to the faculty, staff, students and employees connected with the University. When in violation of parking rules, the registrant is solely responsible.
- All penalties are paid at the Vehicle Registration Office on the second floor of South Hall. Pennies are not acceptable payment.
- Unregistered vehicles are subject to the same violation penalties stated for registered vehicles. After receiving 10 violations, the vehicle may be restricted from the campus and the registration denied for that quarter or session.
- Further violations for a registered or an unregistered vehicle beyond the above may necessitate the appearance of the individual before the Dean of Student Life for appropriate action.
- Illegally or improperly parked vehicles are subject to one ticket per day per location.
- An immobilization boot may be applied to unregistered vehicles that have received more than four tickets.
- Parking spaces reserved for handicapped persons are designated by a sign indicating such and/or a green curb. These zones are reserved for people with handicap parking permits. Unauthorized vehicles may be towed at the owner's expense.
All bicycles parked on the Louisiana Tech University campus must be registered with the University Police Department and must bear a current decal issued by the University Policy Department. The following rules apply to bicycles operated on the campus. (The same regulations apply to unicycles.) Impoundment can occur if any of these regulations are violated (University police is not responsible for destroyed locks due to impoundment).
- Bicycles shall not be ridden in pedestrian crosswalks.
- Obey all signals, lights, speed limits, stop signs and instructions of University Police Officers.
- When operating bicycles between sunset and sunrise, the bicycle must have a white light visible for a distance of 500 feet to the front under normal atmospheric conditions and a red light or red reflector on the rear visible for a distance of 500 feet from the rear under normal atmospheric conditions.
- Bicycles shall yield the right of way to pedestrians.
- Bicycles shall not be used to tow any rider or roller skates, sled, bicycle, toy wagon or contrivance.
- DO NOT permit bicycle to be towed from any other vehicles.
- Bicycles are operated on roadways only and on the right side with the flow of vehicles traffic.
- The rider shall use hand signals to indicate turns.
- When riding with a group, bicycles are to be ridden single file.
- Report all accidents to University Police and do not leave the scene of an accident until instructed to do so by police officers.
- Bicycles should only be parked in the racks or spaces located in various designated areas on campus. Do not attach to handrails, trees, lamp and sign posts, etc.
VISITOR PARKING / NON-FAMILY
Visitors are always welcome at Louisiana Tech and may use any available parking area zone except where the curb is painted red, or reserved. Green handicap zones are reserved for drivers with a handicap permit or tag designation.
Large groups, such as conventions and conferences, are requested to contact the Louisiana Tech Police Department for parking arrangements at least four days prior to the meeting. Visitors who commit infractions of the parking regulations may be issued tickets and asked to comply with the instructions found on the back of the ticket. Louisiana Tech will not knowingly accept a fine from a visitor. Faculty, staff, employees, and students who operate, use or are transported in vehicles on the campus, regardless of ownership, will not be classified as visitors.
FAMILY, SIGNIFICANT OTHER, OR FRIEND VISITATION PARKING
Friends and families of our students are always welcome and are encouraged to visit our campus.
- If a vehicle is used to transport or chauffeur a Louisiana Tech student (regardless of ownership or driver), the student must secure a valid parking permit for the vehicle in order for the vehicle to be parked on the Louisiana Tech campus. Additionally, the vehicle must be parked legally in the appropriate zone.
- Family/significant other visitors may not park in Red (No Parking). Family/significant other visitors may not park in Green (handicap) unless the visitor vehicle has a handicap placard or license plate that has been issued for the driver of the vehicle. Family/significant other visitors must park in the zone for which the visited student is authorized to park. Violations will be charged to the visited student.
- Family/significant other visitors who visit the campus but are not transporting a
Tech student or allowing the Tech student to use the vehicle (see No. 1 above) should
comply with the following. Failure to comply may result in the ticket(s) being charged
to the visited student. Students are responsible for informing their visitors of parking
- The family member/significant other visitor should come by the Traffic Office between 8 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. and receive a free visitor permit for the day of their visit.
- The family member/significant other visitor should bring the ticket received to the Traffic Office (8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.) or the Police window (after 4:30 p.m.) in person on the day it is received.
- Anyone parking a permitted vehicle must park the vehicle in the appropriate zone for which it is permitted (see Vehicle Zone Regulations).
Louisiana Tech University adheres to the equal opportunity provisions of federal and civil rights laws, and does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, religion, age, sexual orientation, marital status or disability. The Title IX Coordinator is Carrie Flournoy, President's Office, P.O. box 3168; phone: (318) 257-3785; email: firstname.lastname@example.org.