The Department of Social Sciences is home to Geography, Geographic Information Science, Political Science, Political Science with a Pre-Law Concentration, Sociology, and The Waggonner Center. Our disciplines study a wide range of individual, institutional, and social behavior, and provide a means of gaining intellectual approaches that will be rewarding for a lifetime as well as a degree that will lead to many exciting career options.











Organizations that are generally of interest to our students include:

For more information about these and other student organizations, please go here.


We offer two scholarships for our majors who are juniors and seniors, the John Caldwell Memorial Scholarship and the John K. Price Scholarship. More detailed information may be found in the Department of Social Science (GTM 137) at the start of each Spring Quarter.