Louisiana Tech University   Colleges
Inside Tech
Blue Spacer Bar
Blue Spacer Bar

University Senate Meeting Minutes


Volume 22                  May 14, 2012                  Number 9

1. Call to Order:  

The May 14, 2012 meeting of the University Senate was called to order at 4:00 p.m. in the Ropp Center, Room 105, by President David Szymanski.

2.  Roll Call:  Sandi Richardson

Senators absent from the meeting and without proxy: Kim Barlow, Brad Benson, Alan Chiu, Mark DeCoster, Richard Kordal, and Troy Malstrom.

3.  Adoption of Agenda:

A motion to accept the agenda was made by Mary Margaret Livingston and seconded by Tammy Schilling; the agenda was approved without change.

4.  Adoption of Minutes:  April 2012

A motion to accept the April 2012 minutes was made by Jeff Yule and seconded by Tammy Schilling; the minutes were approved without change.

5. Guest Speaker: Dr. Daniel Reneau, President

  • U. S. News and World Report lists Louisiana Tech University as a Tier 1 institution
  • 2012 marked the highest ACT scores in the history of freshman classes entering Louisiana Tech
  • New Facilities: Business Building, Tech Pointe, and the Intramural Center
  • 2012 marked the move to Conference USA
  • HB 47 passed and the changed retirement bill is to be phased in one month at a time beginning June 2013
  • LSUS-Tech merger
    • 4th time this has been proposed
    • Current bid shows huge body of support from media as well as state and local politicians. 
    • The merger proposition needed 70 votes to pass and fell just short of the required number
  • Louisiana Tech budget was over $62 million annually when the cuts began and in the five-year period has been reduced to $42 million annually. For the first time in the history of the institution, self-generated funding is larger than state appropriated monies.

6. New Business/Announcements:  

  • Board of Supervisor's Meeting - David Szymanski
  • Faculty Advisory Council - David Szymanski
    • Next meeting is June 26, 2012
  • Administrative and Planning Council - David Szymanski
    • Meeting to be held May 15
  • Conference of Louisiana Colleges and Universities  - David Szymanski 
    • Meeting scheduled for September 22, 2012
  • Communication Committee - David Szymanski
    • Next meeting in June 2012
  • Nominees and Voting for 2012-12 University Senate positions:
    • Vice President - Heath Tims
    • Treasurer - Latoya Pierce
    • Parliamentarian - Kim Barlow
    • Secretary - Sandi Richardson will return
    • President - Larry Jarrell moved from Vice-President into the President's position
    • Ex-Officio President - David Szymanski moves from President into the Ex-Officio President position
  • It was proposed that the University Senate should investigate:
    • Having a University Senate President's Office in Wyly Tower
    • Course release time for the University Senate President

7. Treasurer Report: Kathleen Johnston

See April 2012 Treasurer's report

8. Temporary Committee Results:

9. Unfinished Business:

  • University Senate Chair Award  
    • Voting was conducted, and Dr. Weizhong Dai of College of Engineering and Science was declared the 2012 recipient.
  • Virgil Orr Junior Faculty Award
    • Voting was conducted, and Dr. Heath Tims of the College of Engineering and Science was declared the 2012 recipient.
10. Voluntary Remarks:
  • None

11. Adjournment:  A motion to adjourn was made by Tammy Schilling and seconded by Julie Holmes. The meeting adjourned at 5:01 p.m.

Sandi Richardson, Recording Secretary


Directory | A-Z | Search

Louisiana Tech University, A Member of the University of Louisiana System © 2005-2013 Louisiana Tech University Senate