Louisiana Tech University   Colleges
Inside Tech
Calendar
News
Blue Spacer Bar
Blue Spacer Bar

University Senate Meeting Minutes

LOUISIANA TECH UNIVERSITY SENATE

Volume 23                 October 14, 2013                   Number 2

1. Call to Order:  

The October14, 2013 meeting of the University Senate was called to order at 4:00 p.m. in the Ropp Center, Room 105, by President Heath Tims.

2.  Roll Call:  Sandi Richardson

Senators absent from the meeting and without excuse or proxy:  Nazir Atassi, Courtney Hilton, Richard Kordal, Son Le, Patrick O'Neal, Mihaela Paun, Colin Wick.     

3.  Adoption of Agenda:

A motion to accept the agenda was made by David Merchant and seconded by Marilyn Robinson; the agenda was approved without change.

4.  Adoption of Minutes:  September 2013

A motion to accept the September 2013 minutes was made by Marilyn Robinson and seconded by Rhonda Boyd; the minutes were approved without change.

5. New Business/Announcements

  • Social Media Policy: Dr. David Guerin, University Marketing and Communications
    Dr. Guerin explained the proposed Social Media Policy and invited questions or feedback from the senators. Much discussion ensued regarding the potential restrictions imposed upon all Louisiana Tech employees if this document does eventually become policy. The document has not yet been released for public viewing.
  • Administrative and Planning Council September 18 and October 9: Heath Tims
    • Faculty are reminded to take the ADA Moodle course by November 1
    • Homecoming week is the week of October 14; senators are encouraged to participate.
  • Association of Louisiana Faculty Senates (ALFS) - September 28, 2013: Michael Swanbom
    The three system presidents came to the meeting (ULS System, Southern System, and Community College System). Colleges are to focus on the directive to serve as a work-force development agency.

6. Treasurer's Report was given by Kim Theodos

7. Old Business

  • Standing committees briefly discussed
    Senators are reminded to send committee request to either Heath Tims or Sandi Richardson
  • Tuition Exchange Program: Heath Tims with an update
    • Program is in the process of becoming operational.

9. Voluntary Remarks:

None

10. Adjournment:  A motion to adjourn was made by Selwyn Ellis and seconded by Julie Holmes. The meeting adjourned at 4:59 p.m.

Sandi Richardson, Recording Secretary


OmniUpdate

Officers

President
Heath Tims
Engineering and Science
318-257-3770
htims@latech.edu

Vice President
Michael Swanbom
Engineering and Science
318-257-3908
mswanbom@latech.edu

Treasurer
Kim Theodos
Applied and Natural Science
318-257-2839
ktheodos@latech.edu

Parliamentarian
Julie Rutledge
Applied and Natural Science
318-257-4456
rutledge@latech.edu

Secretary
Sandi Richardson
College of Business
318-257-3702
sandir@latech.edu

Ex-Officio President
Larry Jarrell
Education
318-257-4306
ljarrell@latech.edu

Representative
Pasquale DePaola
Liberal Arts
318-257-5263
pdepaola@latech.edu

Representative
Dewanna Blake
Applied and Natural Sciences
318-257-3081
dblake@latech.edu

Representative
Patrick O'Neal
Engineering and Science
318-257-5235
poneal@latech.edu

Representative
Julie Holmes
Education
318-257-2960
jholmes@latech.edu

Representative
Jim Cochran
College of Business
318-257-2835
jcochran@latech.edu

Representative
Boris Teske
Prescott Library
318-257-2992
teskeb@latech.edu

Representative
Marilyn Robinson
Specialized Services
318-257-2924
mrobinso@latech.edu


Directory | A-Z | Search

Louisiana Tech University, A Member of the University of Louisiana System © 2005-2013 Louisiana Tech University Senate