Louisiana Tech University   Colleges
Inside Tech
Blue Spacer Bar
Blue Spacer Bar

University Senate Meeting Minutes


Volume 23                 September 16, 2013                   Number 1

1. Call to Order:  

The September 16, 2013 meeting of the University Senate was called to order at 4:00 p.m. in the Ropp Center, Room 105, by President Heath Tims.

2.  Roll Call:  Sandi Richardson

Senators absent from the meeting and without excuse or proxy:  Jean Gourd, Dave Merchant, Mihaela Paun, and Markus Wobisch.     

3.  Adoption of Agenda:

A motion to accept the agenda was made by Selwyn Ellis and seconded by Julie Holmes; the agenda was approved without change.

4.  Adoption of Minutes:  May 2013

A motion to accept the May 2013 minutes was made by Jim Cochran and seconded by Rhonda Boyd; the minutes were approved without change.

5. New Business/Announcements

  • Introduction of new Senate members and recognition of Executive Committee members
  • University Senate atmosphere
    • It is hoped that the University Senate increase their action to have a greater impact toward real change for the University
  • Purpose and Attendance
  • Robert's Rules of Order by Julie Rutledge, Parliamentarian
  • Report on Faculty Advisory Council Meeting tabled until October 2013
  • Report on Administrative and Planning Council Meeting tabled until October 2013
  • Faculty Advisory Council representative is Heath Tims and alternate is Michael Swanbom
  • Popular opinion supported having guest speakers periodically or when pressing changes warrant.
  • Survey data was requested by Heath Tims and is to be sent to him prior to October 14 meeting.

6. Old Business

  • Standing committees discussed; necessity of existing committees to be discussed at later date
  • Tuition Exchange Program: Pat O'Neal
    • Program allows students from member institutions to exchange educational opportunity with minimal cost. May be implemented in fall of 2014-15 (is an undergraduate scholarship program).
  • Parking: Using the 3-day rule was explained 
  • Proposition made to send a thank-you letter to Dr. Guice for granting free parking for the 2013-14 academic year.
  • Heath Tims made a plea to senators for their input regarding issues to target this academic year.

9. Voluntary Remarks:


10. Adjournment:  A motion to adjourn was made by Rhonda Boyd and seconded by Julie Rutledge. The meeting adjourned at 4:44 p.m.

Sandi Richardson, Recording Secretary


Directory | A-Z | Search

Louisiana Tech University, A Member of the University of Louisiana System © 2005-2013 Louisiana Tech University Senate