F Jay Taylor Award Winners

The F. Jay Taylor-Tech Foundation Undergraduate Teaching Award is awarded annually to a full time faculty member whose primary duty is undergraduate teaching. Faculty are nominated by members of the University Senate. Each nominee submits a five-page packet of information for review by all University Senate members. The packet includes a list of undergraduate courses taught and their enrollment; the student retention rate in each of the listed courses; the latest summary student evaluations, a statement of his/her beliefs concerning the significance of undergraduate teaching within the overall mission of Louisiana Tech; a description of an important innovation he/she has made in undergraduate teaching; a list of his/her publications and papers that relate to teaching; and any other pertinent information. Following review by each Senator of all submitted materials, a vote of the University Senate determines the recipient of the award. The award consists of a plaque and a $1,500 stipend. The award is announced at the Spring Commencement.

  • The nominated faculty member’s primary duty must be undergraduate teaching;
  • The nominated faculty member must have a non-administrative position;
  • The nominated faculty member must be tenured or must have served on the faculty full-time for at least 6 years;
  • The nominated faculty member must have at least a 9-month appointment; and
  • The nominated faculty member must not have received the award previously.


Louisiana Tech’s distinguished F. Jay Taylor Award winners are as follows:

2010 Dr. Dorothy Robbins

2009 Dr. Charles Patterson

2008 Anita Pumphrey

2007 Dr. Aziz Saber

2006 Dr. David Hall

2005 Dr. Rick Simmons

2004 Dr. Gary Stokley

2003 Dr. Ruth Ellen Hanna

2002 Dr. Larry Sellers

2001 Dr. Dale Snow

2001 Dr. William Green

2000 Dr. John Price

1999 Dr. Joy Lowe

1998 Dr. John Caldwell

1997 Dr. Dianne Douglas

1996 Dr. Bill Deese

1995 Dr. Dwight Anderson

1994 Mary Belle Tuten

1993 Dr. Butch Miller

1992 Dr. Mel Corley

1991 Dr. Phil Cook

1990 Dr. Randall Barron

1989 Dr. Ed Jacobs

1988 Rose Marie Daigle

1987 Dr. Jim Lowther

1986 Dr. Abe Attrep

1985 Cliffo Crump

1984 Dr. Patricia Elliot

1983 Dr. Phil Rice

1982 Dr. Carol Tubor

1981 Dr. John Winters

1980 Dr. Charles Foxworth