The University Senate Chair Award

The Louisiana Tech University Senate Chair Award is awarded annually to a full-time tenured faculty member whose research, teaching, and service are seen as significant contributions to the mission and purpose of the university. Nominations and the selection of a single nominee for each college and the library are made on the basis of a vote of the entire faculty of each college and the library, respectively. Each nominee submits a five-page packet of information for review by all University Senate members. This packet, which shall be a maximum of five pages, shall cover the previous five years at Louisiana Tech. It shall include (as applicable): a list of courses taught and the overall teacher evaluation rating for each course; a statement of beliefs concerning the importance of teaching, research, and community/university service to the overall mission of the university; a selected list of publications, grants, and similar activities; and a selected list of community/university service activities. These nominees are then voted on by the University Senate. The award includes a plaque and a $2000 stipend paid through the Louisiana Tech University Senate. The award is presented during the annual fall meeting of the faculty and staff.

Any faculty member in any area may be nominated for the University Senate Chair Award in accordance with the following criteria:

  • The nominee has a full-time, non-administrative, tenured faculty appointment; and
  • The nominee has not previously received this award.


Distinguished winners of the prestigious University Senate Chair Award are:

Dr. Peter Jones, 2009-2010

Dr. David Mills, 2008-2009

Dr. Galen Turner, 2007-2008

Dr. Raja Nassar, 2006-2007

Dr. Dianne Douglas, 2005-2006

Dr. Jim Spaulding, 2004-2005

Dr. Rick Simmons, 2003-2004

Dr. Ruth Ellen Hanna, 2002-2003

Dr. Alan Goldspiel, 2001-2002

Dr. Sue Holder, 2000-2001

Dr. Maureen McCurdy, 1999-2000

Dr. Gene Crowder, 1998-1999

Dr. Mel Corley, 1997-1998

Dr. Bobby E. Price, 1996-1997

Dr. Dale Snow, 1995-1996

Dr. Joy L. Lowe, 1994-1995

Dr. Dixie Griffin, 1993-1994

Dr. Earl Council, 1992-1993

Dr. Margaret W. Maxfield, 1992-1993

Dr. William C. Deese, 1991-1992

Dr. Gary S. Zumwalt, 1990-1991

Dr. Dennis E. Minor, 1989-1990

Dr. David A. Holtz, 1988-1989

Dr. Scott Burns, 1987-1988

Dr. Joe M. Pullis, 1986-1987

Dr. Albert W. Lazarus, 1985-1986

Dr. Samuel V. Dauzat, 1984-1985

Dr. Tom J. Lewis, 1983-1984

Dr. John W. Goertz, 1982-1983

Dr. John F. Leich, 1981-1982

Dr. Billy J. Davis, 1980-1981

Dr. Morgan D. Peoples, 1979-1980

Dr. Jackie B. Garner, 1978-1979

Dr. Scott Weathersby, 1977-1978