Louisiana Tech’s department of English has awarded more than $6,000 in scholarships to its undergraduate and graduate students for the 2008-2009 academic year.

Missy Wallace, of Ruston; Marguerite Shipley, of Ruston; Courtney Harrison, of Shreveport; John Bourgeois, of Basile; and Jennifer Harris, of Ruston; have been named recipients of the Clairece Harp Lyles Endowed Scholarship Fund. Students for the Lyles scholarship must be full-time undergraduate English majors with a GPA of 3.0 or better.

Graduate students Magin Gregg, of Monroe; and April Honaker, of Ruston; are the recipients of the Dorothy Melton scholarship. The Melton scholarship is awarded to no more than two students per academic year who are full-time junior, senior, or graduate English majors and maintain a 3.2 GPA.

The Mary Alice Posey Garrett scholarships have been awarded to Heather Castille, of Sulphur; Sawyer Halbrook, of Pineville; and Anna Wilkinson, of Shreveport. Garrett scholarships are renewable awards given to full-time undergraduate English majors who maintain a 3.0 GPA and show promise as future English teachers.

Written by Elizabeth Christian