Louisiana Tech honors outstanding faculty inventors

Nov 12, 2009 | General News

Innovations gaining attention of entrepreneurs, industries nationwide

Several faculty members from Louisiana Tech University have received recognition for recent inventions, patents and licenses as well as their overall contributions to the institution’s commercialization efforts.

Louisiana Tech’s Intellectual Property Committee honored these faculty members whose inventions have been granted patents by the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office or those that have had their technologies licensed to an outside company for commercialization.

“I continue to be impressed by how dedicated these faculty members are to their research and the quality of their inventions,” said Dr. Rich Kordal, director of Louisiana Tech’s Office of Intellectual Property and Commercialization (OIPC).

“The spirit of cooperation and innovation here at Louisiana Tech has led us to a disclosure rate that is higher than the national average.”

Dr. Vir Phoha, professor of computer science, has licensed his computer authentication software featuring technology that will enhance computer system security by identifying specific user keystroke patterns.

Dr. Yuri Lvov, professor of micro and nanosystems, has licensed his drug delivery technology to Nemucore Medical Innovations. Lvov’s technology uses nanoencapsulation to control the release of drugs in a patient’s system.

Dr. Erez Allouche, associate professor of civil engineering and research director of Tech’s Trenchless Technology Center, and Dr. Ray Sterling, professor emeritus of civil engineering, were also recognized for their work in advancing the commercialization of trenchless technology.

Certificates of Commemoration were presented to first-time inventors as well as faculty that have reported inventions and submitted patent applications to the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.

According to the OIPC’s latest annual report, Louisiana Tech averages about 25-30 Reports of Invention (ROIs) annually.

The inventions generated by Louisiana Tech’s faculty continue to capture the attention of entrepreneurs, established companies and other potential partners and collaborators from around the nation.

Among all of the achievements and accomplishments of these inventors, Kordal says Tech is most pleased to see that some of its previously licensed technologies are poised to enter the marketplace and to benefit the general public.

“As we look toward the future, we are excited about the prospect of additional Louisiana Tech-based products being launched into the marketplace and the positive impact they will make on our society,” said Kordal.

“It is a privilege to work in such a dynamic environment and with such a supportive and forward-thinking administration.”

Faculty members who had patents issued:
– Sumeet Dua for “A method to stabilize a moving image”
– Roy Schubert for “Microbubbles and Microsphere Producer”
– Ji Fang, Alfred Gunasekaran for “Wide-Angle Variable Focal Length Lens System”
– Yuri Lvov for “Artificial Red Blood Cells”

Faculty whose technologies were licensed:
– Erez Allouche and Ray Sterling
– Chad O’Neal
– Vir Phoha
– Erez Allouche and Neven Simicevic
– Chester Wilson and John McDonald
– Yuri Lvov

Faculty whose inventions resulted in a regular US patent application:
– Gary Kennedy; application for “Detecting Bovine Hypocalcemia”
– Henry Cardenas for “Electrokinetic Delivery of Bone Repair Particles”
– Lynn Walker for “Lysing Microorganisms for Biofuel Production”
– Erez Allouche, Neven Simicevic, and Arun Jaganathan for “Pipe Survey Method Using UWB Signal”
– Vir Phoha (3 patent applications) for “Method to Identify Anomalous Data,” “Method to Detect SYN Flood Attack” and “Hidden Markov Model Based User Authentication Using Keystroke Dynamics”
– Ville Kaajakari (2 patent applications) for “X-ray Assisted Etching of Insulators” and “Electret Film Generator”
– Yuri Lvov (2 patent applications) for “Method for the manufacture of Smart Paper and Smart Wood Microfibers” and “Therapeutic Stable Nanoparticles”

Faculty that are first-time inventors:
– Yuri Voziyanov for submission titled, “Genome engineering by tailor-made variants of Flp site-specific DNA recombinase evolved to recombine pre-existing genomic DNA sequences”
– Despina Davis for submission titled, “Thermocooling of Giant Magnetoresistance (GMR) Nanostructures using Bismuth Telluride Nano-Caps”
– Dennis O’Neal for submission titled, “Generation of Layer-by-layer nanoparticles for targeted delivery of anti-cancer polyphenols”
– Mark DeCoster for submission titled, “Three Dimensional Microscaffolds from cellulose fibers and polymeric gels for cell growth, tissue engineering and biocompatible packaging material”
– Dileep Sule for submission titled, “An electronic hand held color distinguisher for electricians”
– Jeffrey Shultz for submission titled, “The creation of molecular size standards using PCR of a known sequence”
– Arun Jaganathan for submission titled, “Generation of Layer-by-layer nanoparticles for targeted delivery of anti-cancer polyphenols”
– Gary Zumwalt for submission titled, “Ozone Remediation of Noxious and Invasive Plants”



Written by Dave Guerin