Orientation leaders chosen at Tech

Jan 29, 2010 | General News

Sixteen Louisiana Tech students have been chosen as 2010’s Orientation Student Leaders.

OSLs work to welcome incoming freshmen to the university throughout the year, including summer orientation sessions for freshmen and transfer students. This year’s candidates were chosen out of 65 hopefuls after a two-week application process.

Travis Napper, director of the Orientation and Student Programs, said these students are the face of Tech and will work with incoming students to bridge the gap between high school and college.

The 16 students who will serve as this year’s OSLs are listed by their hometowns:

Alexandria: Justin Beasley, a sophomore history major; Tori Close, a sophomore speech education major

Bossier City: Jena Johnston, a junior early childhood education major; Darien Jones, a junior elementary education major; Hannah Pixley, a junior elementary education major; Tiffany White, a sophomore business management and entrepreneurship major

Chestnut: Lucas Vassocu, a junior finance major

De Quincy: Madison Wall, a junior biology major

Haughton: Clint Carlisle, a sophomore political science major

Keatchie: Nick Carroway, a sophomore political science major

Monroe: Sandra Lara, a sophomore nursing major; Kristen McClain, a sophomore early childhood education major

Pineville: Ashley Peart, a junior elementary education major

Ruston: Earnest Miles III, a junior biology major

Shreveport: Mollie Catherine Smith, a freshman elementary education major

Winnsboro: Brad Anders, a junior biology major

— Tech Talk associate editor Lance Traweek assisted with this report.

Written by Judith Roberts