Nursing students pinned at spring ceremony

Jun 1, 2010 | Applied and Natural Sciences, General News

Twenty-eight Louisiana Tech nursing graduates were pinned during a spring ceremony, and several were honored for their academic achievements.
Students who received awards included the following:
Faculty Award: Natasha Cleveland, of Monroe
Academic Excellence: Joy Herman, of Harrisonburg
Clinical Award: Cleveland; Selena Pilgreen, of Dubach; and James Oliver, of Ruston
Student Nurse Association Award: Clay Bryant, of St. Francisville
Ruston District Nurses Award: Herman
Other students who were pinned were as follows, listed by hometown:
Arcadia: Kelsey Nash
Bernice: Dustin Singleton
Bossier City: Jillian Nerio
Calhoun: Jennifer Davis
Downsville: Jennifer Cole
Farmerville: Sarah Albritton
Gibsland: Haley Stroud
Haynesville: Heather Daniels
Haughton: Jamie Stebbins
Homer: Sarah Watson
Monroe: Kimberly Coleman, Donald Jambois
Pineville: Kody Sasser
Rayville: Christy Hough
Ruston: Brittany Brevelle, Rebecca Takewell
Shreveport: Andrew Elder, Lauren Holland
Slidell: Alyssa Toranto
Vidalia: Shannon Galloway
West Monroe: Kelsey Bastion, Amber Reese
Winnsboro: Leslie Adkins
Geoffery Deason, an RN in the ICU at Ruston’s Northern Louisiana Medical Center, served as the ceremony’s guest speaker. Deason is a graduate of Tech, having received his associate’s degree of business technology and associate’s degree of nursing from the university. He has worked in a variety of health care settings, including the Medical Complex Unit at HealthSouth Specialty Hospital in Ruston and as an EMT with Claiborne Ambulance Service.