Journalism students sweep LPW news and column writing; bring home 13 awards

May 18, 2011 | General News, Liberal Arts

Tech journalism students prove they have the ‘write’ stuff.
Louisiana Press Women announced its 2011 Communications Contest winners this week, and Tech journalism students brought home 13 awards—including seven first-place awards.
“This has been a banner year for Tech in journalism competitions,” said Dr. Reginald Owens, chair of journalism. “This announcement from Louisiana Press Women brings to 39 the total number of awards our students have won in competitions this school year. If you add the eight awards our faculty and staff have won in the LPW competition, our department has won 47 journalism awards.  Certainly, this speaks to the quality of our students, faculty and overall, the department.”
Winners include:
Special series – Taylor Stephens of Bossier City, first place
Personality profile (500+ words) – Haley Kraemer of Shreveport, second place
Specialty articles (reviews) – Robert Wilson Jr. of Boyce, first place
Collegiate only categories:
News writing – Amber Guyotte of Jonesboro, first place; Kelly Belton of Simonton, Texas, second place; Amy Olita of Shreveport, third place
Feature writing – Danielle Cintron of La Place, first place
Column writing (newspaper, magazine or special supplement) – Ashley Dison of Spearsville, first place; Robert Wilson Jr., second place; Lance Traweek of Monroe, third place; Amy Olita, honorable mention
Design (newspaper, magazine or special supplement) – Amy Olita, first place
Graphics/illustrations (newspaper, magazine or special supplement) – Amy Olita, first place
All first-place winners at the state level will compete in the National Federation of Press Women (NFPW) competition to be held later this summer.
Louisiana Press Women is a state affiliate of the NFPW, a non-profit organization that has promoted excellence and ethics across media platforms for more than 70 years.  The organization is committed to protecting First Amendment rights and professional growth for the future.
Written by Dr. Elizabeth Barfoot Christian