Louisiana Tech honors loyal, distinguished alumni at Alumni Awards Luncheon

Oct 31, 2014 | General News

Louisiana Tech University honored some of its Homecoming heroes Friday at its annual Alumni Awards Luncheon held in the Louisiana Tech Student Center.
The event honored seven Louisiana Tech alumni including Bill Cox of Ruston, who was named the Louisiana Tech Alumnus of the Year while Jamie Adams of Dallas was the recognized as the Young Alumnus of the Year. Five others were honored by their academic colleges as Distinguished Alumni of the Year.
L to R: Louisiana Tech President Dr. Les Guice, College of Liberal Arts: Scott Hutcheson, College of Business: Kyle McDonald, Alumnus of the Year: Bill Cox, College of Applied and Natural Sciences: Mildred McGehee, Young Alumnus of the Year: Jamie Adams, College of Education: Jerry Andrews, College of Engineering and Science: Ernest Green.

L to R: Louisiana Tech President Dr. Les Guice, College of Liberal Arts: Scott Hutcheson, College of Business: Kyle McDonald, Alumnus of the Year: Bill Cox, College of Applied and Natural Sciences: Mildred McGehee, Young Alumnus of the Year: Jamie Adams, College of Education: Jerry Andrews, College of Engineering and Science: Ernest Green.

Cox, a 1959 geology graduate, retired as Louisiana Tech’s director of athletic promotions and director of athletic facilities in 1996 after working in the Athletics Department for 12 years. He also worked for Cedar Creek in Ruston from 1996-2007 and was the owner of Cox’s Shell Service Station in Ruston from 1960-84. His 22 awards and recognitions for service to Louisiana Tech, Cedar Creek and the Ruston community include being the recipient of the Robert E. Russ Awards in 2001 and the Bill Best Humanitarian Awards in 2007.
“All of my life, God has seen fit to put me in the right place at the right time surrounded by the right people,” Cox said. “I wasn’t born in Ruston or even Lincoln Parish, but I’m so proud to be here today and proud of being an alumnus of this university and a Lincoln Parish resident. I’m proud of being a Christian and proud of being presented this award.
“When I first got the letter telling me I was going to receive this award, I thought it was a joke or a mistake. Then I thought maybe it was like a lottery and I was just lucky my name had been drawn. I graciously accept this award, but I’ll tell you who deserves it – the thousands of students here, and the thousands of alumni along with all of the administrators and educators. I’m just proud to be part of the Tech team.”
Adams, a 2004 computer information systems graduate, is senior vice president of sales at Scorpion Design, LLC and is also co-founder of RollKoll Technologies. After beginning his career as a senior consultant at Deloitte & Touche, Adams became director of the ReachLocal Auto Division as well as vice president of sales within the Home Services Vertical Division and vice president of the Strategic Partnerships Division.
In January of 2014 Adams co-founded RollKoll Technologies, a company dedicated to bringing efficiency and transparency to the off-duty security industry, making it easier for agencies to connect with police officers looking for off-duty work and then providing oversight.
In March of 2014, Adams took on the additional role of senior vice president of Scorpion Design, LCC, an Internet marketing company designed to help professionals in a wide range of professions.
“I think a lot about leadership, and the best definition I’ve got was from a mentor of mine who told me it’s ‘capturing the hearts of people.’ I had professors here at Tech who did just that: capture my heart.
“Thank you so much and I look forward to being even more involved here at Louisiana Tech from here on out.”
Mildred McGehee is the College of Applied and Natural Sciences Distinguished Alumnae for 2014. A 1945 graduate in home economics, McGehee was inducted into Louisiana Tech’s Hall of Distinguished Alumni in 2013. She is the former director of both the College of Home Economics Foundation and the Louisiana Tech University Foundation and helped establish several endowments in support of human ecology, early childhood education, entrepreneurship and agricultural science. McGehee, along with her husband Lucius, was also the recipient of the 1997 Robert E. Russ Awards.
The College of Business recognized Kyle McDonald, a 1981 finance graduate, as its 2014 Distinguished Alumnus honoree. McDonald, who earned a Juris Doctorate from the LSU Law Center in 1984 and is an ABA National Trust School graduate, serves as chief executive officer for Argent Financial Group and is a past vice president and trust officer at Ruston State Bank. He practiced law with Taylor, Porter, Brooks, & Phillips in Baton Rouge in 1984 and 1985 before joining Ruston State Bank in 1985.
McDonald has also served as chairman of the Board of Trustees of Northern Louisiana Medical Center, the North Louisiana Economic Partnership and the Ruston-Lincoln Chamber of Commerce among other community activities. He is a member of the Louisiana committee of 100 for Economic Development and The Bridge Community Church of Ruston.
Dr. Jerry Andrews, a 1962 and 1965 graduate, was named the College of Education’s Distinguished Alumnus for 2014. Andrews, Dean Emeritus of the College of Education, served as a professor for and dean for 16 years and was also a member of Louisiana Tech’s Athletics Council from 1982-98. In addition, Andrews served as an associate professor and interim department head of the Department of Curriculum and Instruction, assistant dean and coordinator of Louisiana Tech’s Off-Campus Programs, and assistant to the dean and director of Financial Placement for the LSU College of Education.
The College of Engineering and Science recognized Ernest Green, a 1981 electrical engineering technology graduate, as its 2014 Distinguished Alumnus. Green has spent the majority of his 33-year career with specialty chemical manufacturer ANGUS Chemical Company, a wholly owned subsidiary of The Dow Chemical Company.
He began with ANGUS in 1986 and has progressed through various roles including electrical and instrumentation maintenance, electrical and instrumentation engineering, site maintenance leader and production leader, leading to his current position as site leader in Sterlington.
Green is currently active in professional organizations and community affairs including serving on the Louisiana Chemical Industry Alliance Board of Directors, United Way of Northeast Louisiana Board of Directors, Louisiana Purchase Council of the Boy Scouts of America Board of Directors, Process Technology Advisory Board for Louisiana Delta Community College, Louisiana Community and Technical College System Foundation Board and the Louisiana Tech College of Engineering Foundation Board.
Scott Hutchinson, a 1987 and 1989 graduate, is the College of Liberal Arts’ 2014 Alumnus of the Year. Hutcheson serves as the senior advisor for Cultural Economy to New Orleans Mayor Mitch Landrieu. In that capacity he works closely with the mayor and the deputy mayors to develop policy that creates infrastructure for a strong and vibrant cultural economy. Under Hutcheson’s leadership, the first Cultural Economy Snapshot, a report on the impact of culture on the New Orleans economy, was developed and is now published annually.
Hutcheson was also the founding executive director of The Louisiana Cultural Economy Foundation creating a $2 million fund of private dollars granted to support the relief and recovery efforts of cultural organizations, artists, and cultural businesses affected by Hurricanes Katrina and Rita.
Written by T. Scott Boatright –