Department of Music honors students, alumnus

Apr 20, 2016 | Liberal Arts

Louisiana Tech University’s Department of Music has announced the selection of its Alumnus of the Year and honor recital soloists.
Howard Center for the Performing Arts

Howard Center for the Performing Arts

For the Alumnus of the Year, the department has chosen Sean Carrier, who earned a bachelor of music education degree in 1994 and completed his master’s in educational leadership at Harding University.
A native of Cabot, Arkansas, Carrier now lives in Fort Smith, Arkansas, and is in his 14th year as the band director at Southside High School.  For the 2014-2015 academic year, the Southside band was honored as the National Band Association National Blue Ribbon Band of the Year.
Carrier was also recently selected as a Laureate in the John Philip Sousa Foundation Legion of Honor and was appointed to the Midwest Clinic Board of Advisers.
The department will honor Carrier at its annual Honors and Awards Recital at 7:30 p.m. May 6 in Howard Auditorium.
The Honors and Awards Recital will also highlight the 2015-2016 honor recital soloists. The Honors Recital features select students who have exceled in the area of performance throughout their time at Tech.
This year’s soloists are Brian Smith, saxophone; Emily Lancon, soprano; Mary Rudd, piano; and Cody Ford, euphonium.
The Honors and Awards Recital is free and open to the public and will also recognize associate professor of music Lawrence Gibbs, who is retiring. A reception will follow the event. For more information, visit
Written by Judith Roberts –