College of Engineering and Science announces 2018 Distinguished Alumni

Feb 1, 2018 | Engineering and Science, General News

The College of Engineering and Science at Louisiana Tech University is pleased to announce its 2018 Distinguished Alumni.
Each year, academic programs in the College select honorees who exemplify the Louisiana Tech tradition of excellence, are recognized as industry and community leaders, and serve as excellent role models for future engineers and scientists.
“We are extremely proud to recognize our distinguished alumni,” said Dean Hisham Hegab. “These individuals have achieved many amazing accomplishments during their careers and are excellent examples for our current students of what an engineering and science education at Louisiana Tech can enable them to do.”
The recipients were recognized last week at a dinner reception at Squire Creek Country Club. Faculty and staff from Louisiana Tech and the College of Engineering and Science celebrated with the honorees and their families.
2018 COES Distinguished Alumni Group

Front row (Left to right): Sam Wallace, Michael O’Neal, David Rentrop, Glenda Burnley. Back row (Left to right): Dr. Robert Vincent, James Franklin, George Levert, College Dean Hisham Hegab. Not pictured: Dr. David Tong, Chad Williams, Doug Carnahan, Stanley Whitman, Rick Louden

The honorees for each program are as follows.
Biomedical Engineering: Dr. David Tong, Vice President of Cardiac Technologies and President of Tong Labs, Houston, Texas
Chemical Engineering: David Rentrop, Retired Plant Manager and Operations Director of WR Grace, Lake Charles, Louisiana
Chemistry: Chad Williams, Retired ExxonMobil and Managing Partner of D&W Global Energy and Associates, Tulsa, Oklahoma
Civil Engineering: James Franklin, Retired Vice President and General Manager of McDermott International, Covington, Louisiana
Computer Science: Dr. Mike O’Neal, Professor and former Chair of Computer Science Program, Louisiana Tech University, and Founder and Chief Scientist, Network Foundation Technologies, Ruston, Louisiana
Construction Engineering Technology: Doug Carnahan, Sole proprietor of DECSolutions and Director of Merrick and Company, Larkspur, Colorado
Electrical Engineering: George W. Levert, Retired founding partner of Kinetic Ventures, Atlanta, Georgia
Electrical Engineering Technology: Sam Wallace, Associate Vice President of Administration and Facilities, Louisiana Tech University, Ruston, Louisiana
Industrial Engineering: Stanley Whitman, Retired Danaher Corporation, Greensboro, North Carolina
Mathematics: Glenda Canady Burnley, Retired computer analyst at Riverwood International Corporation, Monroe, Louisiana
Mechanical Engineering: Rick Louden, Retired founder of Denali Oil & Gas, Houston, Texas and Many, Louisiana
Physics: Dr. Robert Vincent, Senior Consultant, Satelytics, Inc. and retired Emeritus Professor at Bowling Green State University, Bowling Green, Ohio
For more information about the Distinguished Alumni Awards, contact the College of Engineering and Science’s Office of Development at 318.257.4971 or