Chemistry and Physics programs announce outstanding students

The Louisiana Tech Chemistry and Physics programs have announced outstanding students for the 2018-19 academic year.

Students in the Chemistry and Physics programs at Louisiana Tech University get a unique educational experience, having the opportunity for undergraduate research as well as opportunities to network with professors outside of the classroom. Outstanding students are selected based on a number of criteria depending on the award, including exceptional coursework, active participation in research, anticipating needs for instructional labs, and promoting activities and recognition for the programs.  

Program awards are as follows.


  • ACS Senior Organic Chemistry – Brandon Cooper
  • Analytical Chemistry – Brianna Hood
  • Biochemistry – Kayla Bauer
  • General Chemistry – Carsyn Travis
  • Industrial Chemistry – Sydney Folse
  • Inorganic Chemistry – Bruce Labedis
  • Nanomaterials – Kolby Kunefke
  • Organic Chemistry – Megan Ward
  • Outstanding Laboratory Assistant – Erin Minter
  • Outstanding Service – Riley Cooper
  • Noteworthy Awards – Morgan Roque, Jacob McCluer, Alika Shum


  • Outstanding Freshman and H.R. Ruff Freshman Physics scholarship recipient – Tanner Fuselier
  • Outstanding Researcher – Evan Norris
  • Outstanding Senior – Darrian Mills
  • Outstanding Service – Connor Waits

“My experience as a Physics program student has been highly rewarding not only due to the engaging curriculum I have had the opportunity to study, but also because of the invaluable connections I have made with other students and faculty,” Waits said.

“It is an honor to receive the ACS Senior Organic Chemistry award. I am grateful for the fantastic organic chemistry faculty that we have here at Tech. Dr. Marilyn Cox and Dr. Philip McMullan have definitely inspired my interest in the subject and have taught me a lot through several courses at an advanced level,” Cooper added.