Physics professor Lee Sawyer to chair APS historic sites committee

Dec 28, 2021 | Engineering and Science, Faculty/Staff, General News

Louisiana Tech University Professor of Physics and Academic Director of Chemistry and Physics Dr. H. Lee Sawyer will chair the American Physical Society (APS) Historic Sites Committee for the 2022 year.

Lee SawyerThe APS Historic Sites Committee is made up of six members selected by the Committee on Committees and appointed by the President-elect for three-year terms. This year, the president-elect has selected Sawyer to head up the committee after his performance as a member of the committee for the 2021 year.

The committee selects sites where individuals and institutions have made outstanding contributions to physics and approves wording on plaques at the sites.

“As someone who has always had a deep interest in history, as well as science, this is a perfect position for me to serve APS and give back to the physics community,” Sawyer said. “I look forward to working with the committee throughout the 2022 year.”

Since its founding, the committee has named 54 historical sites around the world, including 52 historic sites throughout the United States, one of which is in Louisiana.

“The APS and the APS Historic Sites Committee share important historical landmarks of physics while promoting new physics research and building networks of physicists who can collaborate on new and exciting projects,” Sawyer added.

The APS is a volunteer organization that was established in 1899. The organization provides a welcoming and supportive professional home for an active, engaged, and diverse membership; advances scientific discovery and research dissemination; advocates for physics and physicists; amplifies the voice for science; shares the excitement of physics; communicates the essential role physics plays in the modern world; and promotes effective physics education for all.