COES Graduate Student Council to host research symposium

Feb 14, 2022 | Engineering and Science, General News, Students

The Louisiana Tech University College of Engineering and Science Graduate Student Council (COES GSC) will host its 2022 COES Graduate Student Symposium from 1-5:30 p.m. Friday, Feb. 18, in Room 108 of the Integrated Engineering and Science Education Building (IESB).

Students enrolled in graduate programs from throughout the College will make short oral presentations and answer questions on topics related to current challenges in engineering and science fields. They will share their research methods as well as their perspectives on solutions.

The event, which is free and open to the public, will include a keynote by Dr. John Matthews, director of Louisiana Tech’s Trenchless Technology Center and Associate Professor of Civil Engineering, Construction Engineering Technology, and Engineering and Technology Management, two presentation sessions, coffee and refreshment breaks, and awards presentations. Dr. Collin Wick, associate dean of graduate studies for the COES and Professor of Chemistry, will welcome attendees at 1 p.m.

“Organizing a symposium has been one of the top priorities since this council took office last year,” COES GSC president Md Tanbin Hasan Mondal said. “The purpose is to exhibit the latest developments in research in a common platform by involving graduate students from different backgrounds. We are pleased that students from diverse concentrations of COES such as Biomedical Engineering, Computer Science, Computational Analysis and Modeling, Cyber Engineering, Materials and Infrastructure Systems, Mathematics, Micro and Nanoscale Systems, and Molecular Science and Nanotechnology have registered to present their latest research. In the future, the COES GSC plans to collaborate with other universities to facilitate broader interactions among promising researchers from various spheres.”

The schedule of events is as follows.

  • 1 p.m. – Welcome – Dr. Collin Wick
  • 1:05 p.m. – Keynote – Dr. John Matthews
  • 1:50 p.m. – Break
  • 2 p.m. – Session 1 (Presentation times include three minutes question and answer)
    • 2 p.m. – Applied Research as an Extension of Project-Based Learning, Dakota Digilormo, Cyberspace Engineering
    • 2:15 p.m. – Understanding Manual Assembly Inspection Processes using Eye Tracking Technology, Dana Hamarsheh, Industrial Engineering
    • 2:30 p.m. – Equitable Dissections of Graphs, Ann Clifton, Computational Analysis and Modeling
    • 2:45 p.m. – Injectable In-Situ Crosslinking Hydrogels for Wound Healing, Tyler Priddy-Arrington, Biomedical Engineering
    • 3 p.m. – Development of a new MEAM potential to study the impact of Al doping on Ti/TiN metal ceramic system, Nisha Dhariwal, Molecular Science and Nanotechnology
  • 3:15 p.m. – Session 1 winners announced, coffee break
  • 3:30 p.m. – Session 2
    • 3:30 p.m. – Corrosion study of Additive Friction Stir (MELD) processed Al 6061 in NaCl solution, Md Shafayet Alam, Micro & Nanoscale Systems
    • 3:45 p.m. – Deep Learning for Thermoset Shape Memory Polymers, Diego Arturo Segura Ibarra, Computational Analysis and Modeling
    • 4 p.m. – Analysis of Selection Bias in Online Adversarial Machine Learning Systems, Victor Barboza Morais, Computer Science
    • 4:15 p.m. – Development of Geopolymer based composites for EMI Shielding from Steel Industry Waste, Rahul Prakash Sharma, Micro & Nanoscale Systems
    • 4:30 p.m. – Monitoring Head Kinematics using RFID, Guilherme Figueiredo, Molecular Science and Nanotechnology
    • 4:45 p.m. – Communication-Efficient Signature-Free Asynchronous Byzantine Agreement, Fan Li, Computational Analysis and Modeling
  • 5 p.m. – Session 2 winners announced
  • 5:15 p.m. – Acknowledgements and appreciation – Md Tanbin Hasan Mondal