Mechanical Engineering seniors earn Barnwell Awards

May 18, 2023 | Engineering and Science, General News, Partnerships, Research, Students

Six teams of Mechanical Engineering seniors won Barnwell Awards – named for former program Professor Joe Barnwell – at the Louisiana Tech University College of Engineering and Science Design and Research Conference.

Each year, Mechanical Engineering seniors work with local industry and government agencies to develop solutions to problems and increase process efficiency – thus saving money. Over the last ten years, the program has saved industry sponsors more than $100M and is currently saving sponsors $15M a year.

At the conference, teams present their work in the Green, Performance, or Safety sessions for the chance to win a Barnwell Award.

Awardees are selected by Mechanical Engineering Industrial Advisory Board Members based on how well they present their solutions to their assigned design problem.

The 2023 winners are listed below.

Green Session Awardees

Green Session Champion: Brett Ezernack (Shreveport), Noah Head (West Monroe), Luke Griego (Shreveport), and Tanner Mayo (Keithville) for their project “Gill Athletics: Meta-Material Landing Pad,” sponsored by Gill Athletics out of Champaign, Illinois

Green Session Runner-Up: Evan Ellis (Ruston), Kade Brady (Boyce), Connor Hollis (West Monroe), and Stewart Hopper (Prairieville) for their project “Power Coat Patterning Machine,” sponsored by Gordon Manufacturing out of Bossier City

Performance Session Awardees

Performance Session Champion: Ben Leethy (Keithville), Blake Fagan (Lake Charles), Kameron McKnight (Baton Rouge), and Michael Morgan (Grayson) for their project “Tank Car Insulation Applicator,” sponsored by the Union Tank Car Company out of Alexandria

Performance Session Runner-Up: Avereigh Barras (Albany), Morgan Manuel (Many), and Ezekeial Webb (Willow Springs, Missouri) for their project “Automated Bag Fitter,” sponsored by Hayes Manufacturing out of Pineville

Safety Session Awardees

Safety Session Champion: Kennedy Abshire (Youngsville), Matthew Gennaro (Benton), Dale Lasseigne (Houma), and Stuart McLoughlin (Deville) for their project “Rapid Locking Manway Cover,” sponsored by the Union Take Car Company out of Alexandria

Safety Session Runner-Up: Dylan Gray (Farmerville), Austin Irons (Alexandria), Aaliyah Jackson (Monroe), and Davis Sutton (Texarkana, Texas) for their project “Cooling Tower Filter System,” sponsored by Calumet Specialty Products out of Shreveport