Outstanding COES juniors, seniors, faculty named at Spring Release

May 12, 2023 | Engineering and Science, General News, Students

Louisiana Tech University’s College of Engineering and Science (COES) announced its 2023 Outstanding Juniors, Seniors, and Faculty at Spring Release, where students, faculty, and staff ate crawfish, played games, and soaked COES professors in dunking booths.

While students directly voted for the COES Outstanding Faculty award — Senior Lecturer of Civil Engineering and Construction Engineering Technology Mr. Jeff Pike — a committee selected Outstanding Student awardees from a pool of nominees submitted by COES faculty and staff. The committee chose the nominees who have best served Tech and the College and have been academically successful.

“These students are examples of why our COES culture is special,” COES Associate Dean of Undergraduate Studies Dr. Heath Tims said. “They take the amazing Engineering and Science Bulldog mentality – which includes strong academic performance and service to the University and COES – and take that a step further through leadership in the classroom and our community.”

The Outstanding Students are named below.

Outstanding Seniors

Avereigh Barras, Mechanical Engineering, Albany

Kaylee Bourgeois, Electrical Engineering, Paulina

Brady Duplessis, Chemical Engineering, St. Amant

Grace Cain, Biomedical Engineering, Pineville

Richard Reed Edwards, Civil Engineering, St. Francisville

Sophie Camille Fineman, Industrial Engineering, Breda, Netherlands

John D. Flores, Construction Engineering Technology, Bossier

Mallory Mankins, Civil Engineering, Zachary

Elizabeth McDowell, Physics and Professional Aviation, Indian Trail, North Carolina

Akeena M Obaze, Chemistry, Dallas, Texas

Gabriel Blaise Peterman, Nanosystems Engineering, Alexandria

Daniel Prado, Biomedical Engineering, Zachary

Noah Savoie, Civil Engineering, Mandeville

Spencer Stelly, Chemistry, Boyce

Sofia Urbina, Biomedical Engineering, Honduras

Race Wicklund, Electrical Engineering, Houma

Bethany Williams, Biomedical Engineering, Lake Charles

Outstanding Juniors

Abby Daigle, Industrial Engineering, Alexandria

Ethan Dowell, Mechanical Engineering, Woodworth

Matthew English, Biomedical Engineering, Tyler, Texas

Ian Golsby, Electrical Engineering, Shreveport

Luke Hausgen, Chemical Engineering, Keithville

Ethan Hebert, Computer Science, Lake Charles

Nicholas Jones, Nanosystems Engineering, West Monroe

Cristi Kruger, Biomedical Engineering, Lake Charles

Catherine Lacey, Biomedical Engineering, Fort Collins, Colorado

Grace Roberts, Civil Engineering, Pineville

Andrew Turner, Cyber Engineering, Thibodaux

Nicholas Winkelmann, Cyber Engineering, Port Aransas, Texas