February 22, 2016 

Call to Order 

The February 22, 2016 meeting of the University Senate was called to order at 4:00 p.m. in the Ropp Center, Room 105, by President Patrick O’Neal. 

Roll Call 

Kim Barlow 

A quorum was met. Those absent without excuse or proxy are: Rich Mancil, Teddy Allen, Paul Jackson, Sanjay Tewari, and Lisa Merritt. 

Approval of Minutes 

The minutes for January 25, 2016 were presented for ratification; a motion to approve of the minutes as presented was made by Bill McCumber and seconded by Rhonda Boyd. Motion passed by unanimous vote. 


1. Guest Speaker – None 

2. President’s Opening Remarks o Important Dates and Updates 

• ALFS: Dr. Rollo  Estimated 70 million cut in Higher Ed 

• Special Legislative Session – Feb 14 – March 8  Remind citizens to play a part at the state level 

• Rally at the Capitol this Wednesday  Estimated student and faculty attendance of 1500 

• Coming meeting with President  Professorships 

 Unclassified Staff Awards 

3. Business o Old Business 

• Topics for University Wide Senate Meeting  Wed, March 16, at 4pm 

 AROS Survey – 180 pages • Not IRB approved 

 Salary comparisons with peer institutions 

 Submit questions to the Senate 

 Have surplus questions available to fill gaps 

 University Senate President answers questions 

 Unclassified policy on politics 

 Committees Chairs – 2 minute panel discussion 

 Louisiana Tech’s drop in Carnegie classification 

• Reports from committees  Policy 

• Changes to Policy on Policies 

• Policies should be updated every three years 

 Staff • Motion for Senate Body support, of the three Unclassified Staff Awards to be presented to Dr. Guice. Unanimously approved on a motion by Bill Davis and seconded by Andy Cline. 

 Work-Life • Modified Duties – stuck in committee 

o New Business – None 

o Other Business – None 

4. Voluntary Remarks – None 

5. Adjournment – The motion to adjourn was made by Steven Toaddy and seconded by Shawn Trivette. The meeting adjourned at 4:5 pm. Kim Barlow, Recording Secretary.