January 22, 2018 – Minutes

  1. Call to Order – The January 22, 2018 meeting of the University Senate was called to order at 4:10 p.m. in University Hall, Room 111, by President Ernest Rufleth. 
  2. Guest Speaker – Davy Norris, Chief Research and Innovation Officer
    1. Discussed four Strategic Theme Plans for Louisian Tech Vision 2020
      1. Theme 1: Recruiting and retaining a diverse student body and community.
      2. Theme 2: Integrating, learning, discovery, and development for an unparalleled education.
      3. Theme 3: Elevating our research and graduate programs to national prominence.
      4. Theme 4: Maximizing the economic impact of our innovation enterprise.
    2. The Office of Research and Innovation is a service unit for the campus community.
    3. Presented their current state of affairs, their charge, and the current focus of various research and innovation areas 
  3. Roll Call – Alicia Kimbell – A quorum was met.
  4. Approval of Minutes – December 2017 – approved on a Roberts/Crook motion
  5. New Business
    1. Updates from Around the University – APC
      1. Recruiting is up 11% from this time last year.
      2. Housing has seen a 19% increase in freshmen for next year.
      3. TOPS could possibly be funded at 20% for next year.
      4. The website terms of use and privacy policy has passed through APC.
      5. The President would like for the university to take a position on DACA.  The APC has asked for documentation of any personal knowledge of students or faculty this would affect. 
    2. Committee Work Time
      1. There was not enough time remaining for the sub-committees to meet.  Ernest Rufleth encouraged all groups to find a time to get together at a later date to meet and prepare an action statement for their initiatives. 
      2. A meeting will be scheduled with the President in a couple of weeks so that Ernest Rufleth can present each sub-committee’s action statement. 
  6. Voluntary Remarks and Reminders
    1. February Meeting: Monday, February 19th, 4:00 – 5:00 p.m., University Hall, Room 111
    2. Nominations will be taken during the February meeting for the F. Jay Taylor Undergraduate Teaching Award.  All Senate members are encouraged to consider making nominations so that there will be a representation of nominees from each college. 
  7. Adjournment – The meeting was adjourned at 5:00 p.m. on a Rutledge/Murray motion.