May 20, 2019 – Minutes

  1. Call to Order – The May 20, 2019 meeting of the University Senate was called to order at 4:02 pm in COBB, Room 221, by President Michael Swanbom.
  2. Roll Call – Alicia Kimbell called roll; a quorum was met.
  3. Approval of April Minutes – A motion was made and was approved by the Senate body.
  4. President Guice:  Remarks and Q & A 
    1. Thanked the Senate members for their work in bringing forward policy ideas this year
    2. Gave updates regarding repair efforts in response to tornado damage
      1. Governor visited campus earlier today to assess progress
      2. Working to determine the best options for damaged athletic areas
    3. Discussed positive movement forward on campus such as roofing projects, ADA accessibility for sidewalks, and a/c repair for A.E. Phillips
    4. Mentioned the success of Giving Day, the $125 million dollar campaign to help Tech move forward
      1. Around $450,000 was raised for disaster relief
      2. Thanked senate members for their participation in this initiative
    5. Senate members asked Dr. Guice additional questions as time permitted
  5. Voting for Award Recipients
    1. Senate members voted for F.J. Taylor, Virgil Orr, University Senate Chair, and the classified and unclassified staff awards
    2. Paper ballots were immediately tallied by Laura Gentry, Alicia Kimbell, and Lynne Nielsen
    3. Winners will be announced at the Fall Faculty/Staff meeting held in September
  6. Review of Senate’s ’18-’19 Accomplishments and Vision for ’19-’20
    1. President Swanbom shared updates on this year’s Senate initiatives including salary adjustment letter, UNIV 289A course, overload pay adjustment request, professorships for promoted faculty, and the adjusted office hours memo
    2. Discussed the role of the Senate going forward into the ’19-’20 academic year in regards to policy changes for the university, interest in pursuing some assistance in the cost of parking decals for staff, and some type of “relief program” for the University Senate President
  7. Electing Senate Officers for 2019-2020
    1. Voting took place by paper ballot and was counted immediately by Laura Gentry and Alicia Kimbell. No need for a run-off.
    2. Those holding officer positions for the ’19-’20 academic year include:
      1. Michael Swanbom – President
      2. Lynne Nielsen – Vice-President
      3. Nina Collum – Treasurer
      4. Jonathan Walters – Parliamentarian
  8. Adjournment – The meeting was adjourned at 4:56 p.m.