Monday, April 20 at 4:00-5:00 pm, Zoom Meeting

  1. Call to Order – The April 20, 2020 meeting of the University Senate was called to order at 4:02 p.m. in a Zoom meeting by President Michael Swanbom
  2. Welcome – President, Michael Swanbom, COES
  3. Roll Call – Alicia Kimbell recorded the attendees as they logged into the meeting; a quorum was met
  4. Approval of February 2020 Minutes – a motion to approve the minutes was made by Nina Collum and seconded by Scott Levin; all approved
  5. Updates – No APC meetings held recently; no updates to report
  6. Use of Internet Resources – a discussion occurred regarding the use of extra online resources while teleworking; it was suggested that if extra costs being absorbed by employees while working from home (ex. purchasing more data to work efficiently), they should contact their Dean to request possible reimbursement for these costs
  7. Award Nominations – voting will take place during the May 18 meeting
    1. Virgil Orr and Senate Chair Awards – packets have already been posted to the senate website for review
    2. FJ Taylor Award – COB and COE have already chosen nominees from their colleges; still seeking nominees from ANS, COES, and COLA; senators have been asked to join separate zoom meetings after the plenary dismissal to work together to select a nominee for each remaining college
    3. Staff Awards – nominees for both unclassified and classified staff awards have been selected and notified; packets are due the first week of May and will be uploaded to the senate website
  8. Officer Elections – The following individuals have agreed to serve as officers for the 2020-2021 academic year: Mikey Swanbom, President; Lynne Stratton, Vice President; Nina Collum, Treasurer; Louis Reis, Parliamentarian. Jerry Berg made a motion to adopt the slate of proposed officers and Judith Roberts seconded the motion; all approved.
  9. Adjournment to Work in Committees – meeting was adjourned at 4:37 p.m. to work in separate Zoom meetings