Monday, May 18 at 4:00-5:00 pm, Zoom Meeting

  1. Call to Order – The May 18, 2020 meeting of the University Senate was called to order at 4:00 p.m. in a Zoom meeting by President Michael Swanbom
  2. Welcome – President, Michael Swanbom, COES
  3. Roll Call – Alicia Kimbell recorded the attendees as they logged into the meeting; a quorum was met
  4. Approval of April 2020 Minutes – a motion to approve the minutes was made by Jerry Berg and seconded by Joan Lynam; all approved
  5. Award Nominations – online voting for Virgil Orr, Senate Chair, FJ Taylor, and Classified/Unclassified Staff Awards will be open online through 8:00 a.m. Wednesday, May 20
    1. Instant runoff will take place so senate will vote for each award nominee in an ordered preference
    2. Winners will be awarded at the 1 faculty/staff meeting of Fall Quarter
  1. Tenure Clock Extensions
    1. Proposal written by one of our senators and colleagues seeking to implement a policy similar to LSU and other institutions regarding tenure clock extensions in light of the institutional measures adopted in response to COVID-19
    2. Motion was made by Louis Reis/Jerry Berg to accept this proposal as long as an amendment was made to change the language to include that the midterm review be used, if applicable, for each college
    3. The motion carries to make this addition to the proposal; 34 yes, 0 no’s
  1. Fall 2020 – Senate will revisit the following items:
    1. Roth 403B – Nina Collum will continue to provide updates
    2. Professorships
    3. UNIV 289A
    4. Overload compensation
    5. Budget project
  1. Adjournment – meeting was adjourned at 4:44 p.m.