Frellsen Fletcher Smith

Frellsen Fletcher Smith was a professor of technical writing at Louisiana Tech University from 1938 to 1972, and in his memory his daughter Lorna and her husband Jon Kardatzke are housing a collection of letters and books from British and American authors and letters from select American statesmen at his alma mater.

The Frellsen Fletcher Smith Gallery, where the papers and books are located, is in a dedicated gallery space on our floor.  We welcome visitors to this historic collection any time during our open hours.

British authors in the collection:

William Harrison Ainsworth, H.G. Wells, Sir Max Beerbohm, William Camden, William Makepeace Thackery, Alfred Lord Tennyson, Charles Dickens, Leigh Hunt, Somerset Maugham, John Ruskin, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, Aldous Huxley, Robert Southey, and William Woodsworth.

American authors and statesmen in the collection:

James Russell Lowell, Bronson Alcott, Earnest Hemingway, John Steinbeck, Louisa May Alcott, Washington Irving, James Madison, Horace Greeley, Zane Grey, Bret Harte, William Faulkner, Gloria Steinem, Mark Twain, Tennessee Williams, Edward Markham, Carl Sandburg, Henry David Thoreau, James Fenimore Cooper, William Cullen Bryant, Rishard Henry Dana, Henry Wadsworth Longfellow, Ralph Waldo Emerson, William Dean Howells, and Thornton Wilder.

Also featured in the collection are the letters and signatures of Louis XVI, 1754 – 1793,  and Louis XIV (The Sun King), 1638 – 1715.

The Department of English is in the process of examining the collection and as items are scanned, they are made available for online perusal at Frellsen-Fletcher Smith Collection